The New Zealand Photobook of the Year Awards have been proudly presented by Momento Pro since 2015 with the aim of celebrating excellence and innovation in photobook creation, and to showcase the work of New Zealand photo artists to local and international audiences. The cash and credit prizes valued at $10,000 are designed to help photographers create, produce and promote their publications. 

The 2017 finalists have now been announced and the Award Ceremony will be held during the Photobook NZ opening night celebrations.
An exhibition of the New Zealand and Australian Photobook of the Year Awards 2017 finalist books will also be hosted during the Photobook NZ Book Fair.

Awards Ceremony
Friday 9th March

Friday 9 March from 8:00pm to late
Saturday 10 March from 10:00am to 5:00pm


The finalists for the 2017 NZ Photobook of the Year Awards are:

‘At Rest. A Road Trip To Anthropocene.’ by Howard Greive 
‘Carbon Empire’ by Allan McDonald
‘Complements’ by Michael Mahne Lamb 
‘Hand-Coloured New Zealand: The photographs of Whites Aviation’ by Peter Alsop + Potton & Burton
‘How are things. How things are.’ by Jamie Bowering 
‘I Will Be My Dream’ by Constance McDonald
‘Mimetic’ by Mark Purdom
‘Missing Wife’ by Dana Chisholm
’Nothing Ever Happens’ by Robyn Daly
‘Retrograde Motion’ by Yvonne Shaw + Tim Mackrell
‘The Lament’ by Harvey Benge + Dewi Lewis Publishing 
‘Valpo’ by Chris Leskovsek